Mathilde Papillon

2019 Trottier Summer Intern and McGill University student
Mathilde hails from Ottawa, Ontario. She is currently completing her undergraduate degree in Honours Physics at McGill University, Montreal. She absolutely loves what she studies and cannot wait to begin her career in astrophysics. This passion was shaped during her high school years, when she had the opportunity to work for non-governmental organisations promoting science amongst Canadian youth, participate in a multitude of STEM competitions and programs like SHAD Valley, and even give a talk at TEDxKanata about the underestimated connection between dance and physics.
More recently, she has had the pleasure of working in a nuclear chemistry lab, as well as a textile friction lab, where she actually had to design and build a snow machine, in the middle of the summer!
Currently, she is a Senior Editor for the McGill Science Undergraduate Research Journal, and is helping improve first year physics courses at McGill as a recipient of the Tomlinson Engagement Award for Change.
Supervisor

Björn Benneke

Mathilde Papillon

Boursière d’été Trottier de l’iREx 2019 et étudiante à l’Université McGill
Mathilde viens d’Ottawa, en Ontario. Elle est présentement au baccalauréat en Honours Physics à l’Université McGill, à Montréal. Elle est tout à fait passionnée de ce qu’elle étudie — son but ultime est de poursuivre une carrière en astrophysique. Cet objectif s’est surtout formé durant son secondaire, alors qu’elle a eu l’occasion de travailler pour des organismes non-governementaux promouvant la science auprès de jeunes, participer dans des programmes d’enrichissement tels que SHAD Valley, et même donner une conférence à TEDxKanata au sujet du lien entre la danse et la physique.
Plus récemment, elle a pu œuvrer dans un laboratoire de chimie nucléaire, ainsi qu’un laboratoire de friction chez les textiles. Pour ce dernier, elle a dû concevoir et construire une machine à neige en plein été!
Présentement, elle est une éditrice pour le Journal de recherche de premier cycle de McGill et puis elle travaille à améliorer des cours d’introduction à la physique en tant que récipiendaire du Tomlinson Engagement Award for Change.
Directeur de recherche

Björn Benneke