Les grandes conférences de l’iREx – Dr Michaël Gillon

The Institute for research on exoplanets invite you to the public lecture:

La vie au-delà du système solaire: de la science-fiction à la science (in French)

Life Beyond the Solar System: From Science Fiction to Science

by Michaël Gillon, Senior Research Associate of the FRS-FNRS at the STAR (Space Sciences, Technologies and Astrophysics) Institute of the University of Liège, Belgium.  Dr. Gillon is known for leading the team that discovered a planetary system around the star TRAPPIST-1.

The conference will take place on Wednesday, October 24, 2018 at 7:30 pm, at the University of Montreal, at Pavillon Jean-Brillant, room B-2325.

No prior knowledge is necessary. IREx conferences are for anyone who wants to learn about exoplanets and astronomy, regardless of age or scientific knowledge.

Link to Facebook event

Summary

Since the dawn of time, the existence of other inhabited worlds has fascinated human beings. Until the Copernican revolution, this pluralistic hypothesis remained purely mythological or philosophical. Only with the understanding that our Earth, far from being the center of the universe, is only one of many planets orbiting the Sun, which is itself nothing more than a star similar in every respect to the stars lining the celestial vault, did cosmic pluralism become a dominant notion defended by many scholars and philosophers. Later, astronomy taught us that there are hundreds of billions of stars in the Milky Way, our galaxy, and that there are hundreds of billions of galaxies in our expanding Universe. Faced with such immensity, it is very tempting to hypothesize the existence of other inhabited planets, and even other advanced civilizations, somewhere beyond our solar system. Indeed this hypothesis captivated the public during the second half of 20th century, with the help of countless science fiction stories, novels and movies. Over the past two decades, this fascination has become even stronger, this time thanks to science instead of science fiction. Indeed, in the 90s, astronomers detected the first exoplanets, that is to say the first planets orbiting another star than the Sun. Since these historical discoveries, more than 3000 exoplanets have been detected at an ever-accelerating pace. A few dozens of these are “potentially habitable”, that is to say they could be rocky worlds harboring oceans of water on their surface, like our Earth. From there, imagining complex forms of life on some of these planets is but a small step away, one that is happily crossed by many. But our imagination will soon be replaced by real scientific measures, because, in the next decade, our most powerful telescopes will be able to probe the atmospheric compositions of some of these extrasolar worlds, and possibly even find chemical traces of life there. If successful, our view of Cosmos will change forever…

Biography

Born on January 24, 1974 in Liège, Belgium, Michaël Gillon is a FRS-FNRS Senior Research Associate at the STAR (Space Sciences, Technologies and Astrophysics) Institute at the University of Liège, Belgium. At the age of 24, after seven years in the Belgian army, he began studying sciences at the University of Liège. From there he obtained a Bachelor degrees in Biology (2000) and Physics (2003), and a Masters in Biochemistry (2002) and Astrophysics (2006). After these studies, he did a doctoral thesis on the detection of exoplanets which he defended in 2006 in Liège. He then joined the Observatory of the University of Geneva (Switzerland) as a postdoctoral researcher as part of the team of Michael Mayor and Didier Queloz, the two discoverers of the first exoplanet in 1995. He returned to Liège in 2009, notably to initiate and lead the TRAPPIST and SPECULOOS exoplanet projects.

Michaël Gillon has made several major contributions to the detection and characterization of exoplanets. He notably led the first size measurement of a Neptune sized exoplanet (2007) and the first detection of the emission of a rocky exoplanet (2012). He is also the principal discoverer of the famous planetary system TRAPPIST-1 (2016, 2017) composed of seven Earth-sized planets orbiting a small nearby star, many of which are potentially habitable and well adapted for follow-up detailed atmospheric studies. The importance of his contributions to the study of exoplanets and to the search for life elsewhere in the Universe earned him one of the prestigious Balzan Awards in 2017, and to be nominated as one of the 100 most influential personalities in the world by the Times magazine.

To get there

The Pavillon Jean-Brillant at the Université de Montréal is at 3200 Jean-Brillant. It is easily accessible by subway, through Côte-des-Neiges metro station on the blue line. Walk on Chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges towards the Oratoire Saint-Joseph and turn left on Jean-Brillant street. The building will be less than 5 minutes away, on your right. Directions to the room will then be clearly visible.

SaveSave

SaveSave

Les grandes conférences de l’iREx – Dr Michaël Gillon

L’Institut de recherche sur les exoplanètes vous invite à la conférence grand public :

La vie au-delà du système solaire: de la science-fiction à la science

par Michaël Gillon, Maître de Recherche F.R.S.-FNRS au sein de l’Institut STAR (Sciences Spatiales, Technologies et Astrophysique) de l’Université de Liège, en Belgique. Dr Gillon s’est fait connaître entre autres pour avoir mené l’équipe qui a découvert un système planétaire autour de l’étoile TRAPPIST-1.

La conférence aura lieu le mercredi le 24 octobre 2018 à 19h30, à l’Université de Montréal, au Pavillon Jean-Brillant, local B-2325.

Aucune connaissance préalable n’est nécessaire. Les conférences de l’iREx sont destinées à quiconque veut en apprendre plus sur les exoplanètes et l’astronomie, peu importe l’âge ou les connaissances scientifiques.

Lien vers l’évènement Facebook

Résumé

De tout temps, l’existence d’autres mondes habités a fasciné l’être humain. Jusqu’à la révolution copernicienne, cette hypothèse pluraliste est restée purement mythologique ou philosophique. La compréhension que notre Terre, loin d’être le centre de tout, n’est que l’une des nombreuses planètes en orbite autour du Soleil, lui-même n’étant qu’un astre similaire en tout point aux étoiles tapissant la voûte céleste, a fait alors du pluralisme cosmique une notion dominante défendue par de nombreux philosophes et érudits. Plus tard, l’astronomie nous enseigna qu’il y a des centaines de milliards d’étoiles dans la Voie Lactée, notre galaxie, et qu’il y a des centaines de milliards de galaxies dans notre Univers en expansion. Face à une telle immensité, il est très tentant d’émettre l’hypothèse de l’existence d’autres planètes habitées, et même d’autres civilisations technologiques, quelque part au-delà de notre système solaire. Cette hypothèse a captivé le public durant la deuxième partie du 20e siècle, avec l’aide d’innombrables histoires de science-fiction, de romans et de films. Au cours des deux dernières décennies, cette fascination est devenue encore plus forte, et cette fois grâce à la science au lieu de la science-fiction. En effet, dans les années 90, des astronomes ont détecté les premières exoplanètes, c’est-à-dire les premières planètes en orbite autour d’une autre étoile que le Soleil. Depuis ces découvertes historiques, plus de 3000 exoplanètes ont été détectées à un rythme sans cesse croissant. Quelques dizaines d’entre elles sont «potentiellement habitables», c’est-à-dire pourraient être des mondes rocheux abritant des océans d’eau à leur surface, comme notre Terre. De là à imaginer des formes complexes de vie sur certaines de ces planètes, il n’y a qu’un pas franchi joyeusement par beaucoup. Mais l’imagination sera bientôt remplacée par des mesures scientifiques, car, dans la prochaine décennie, nos télescopes les plus puissants pourront sonder les compositions atmosphériques de certains de ces mondes extrasolaires, et éventuellement y trouver des traces chimiques de vie. En cas de succès, notre vision du Cosmos changera pour toujours …

Biographie

Né le 24 janvier 1974 à Liège, en Belgique, Michaël Gillon est Maître de Recherche F.R.S.-FNRS au sein de l’Institut STAR (Sciences Spatiales, Technologies et Astrophysique) de l’Université de Liège, Belgique. A 24 ans, après sept années passées dans l’armée belge, il commença des études de sciences à l’Université de Liège. Il y obtiendra des diplômes de Bachelier en biologie (2000) et en physique (2003), et de Master en biochimie (2002) et en astrophysique (2006). Après ces études, il fit, toujours à Liège, une thèse de doctorat sur la détection d’exoplanètes qu’il défendit en 2006. Il rejoignit ensuite l’Observatoire de l’Université de Genève (Suisse) en tant que chercheur postdoctorant au sein de l’équipe de Michael Mayor et Didier Queloz, les deux découvreurs de la première exoplanète en 1995. En 2009, il revint à Liège, notamment pour y concevoir et diriger les projets exoplanétaires TRAPPIST et SPECULOOS.

Michaël Gillon a apporté plusieurs contributions majeures à la détection et l’étude détaillée des exoplanètes. Il a notamment dirigé la première mesure de la taille d’une exoplanète similaire à Neptune (2007) et la première détection de l’émission d’une exoplanète rocheuse (2012). Il est aussi le découvreur principal du fameux système planétaire TRAPPIST-1 (2016, 2017) composé de sept planètes de la taille de la Terre en orbite autour d’une petite étoile proche, plusieurs de ces planètes étant potentiellement habitables et bien adaptées à des études atmosphériques détaillées. L’importance de ses apports à l’étude des exoplanètes et à la recherche de la vie ailleurs dans l’Univers lui ont valu de recevoir en 2017 l’un des prestigieux Prix Balzan, et d’être nominé parmi les 100 personnalités les plus influentes du monde par le magazine Times.

Pour vous rendre

Le Pavillon Jean-Brillant de l’Université de Montréal se trouve au 3200 Jean-Brillant. Il est facilement accessible en métro. Sortez à la station Côte-des-Neiges (ligne bleue), puis marchez sur le Chemin de la Côte-des-Neiges vers l’Oratoire Saint-Joseph et tournez à gauche sur la rue Jean-Brillant. Le Pavillon se trouve à moins de 5 minutes de marche, sur la droite. Des indications seront bien en vue à partir de là.