Emilie Laflèche

2019 Trottier Summer Intern and McGill University student

Emilie is a first-year Honours Planetary Science student at McGill University. She will be fulfilling her summer iREx internship at McGill under the supervision of Prof. Nicolas Cowan. Her research interests include studying the habitability potential of exoplanets, the dynamics of multiplanetary systems, and the modelling of exoplanet surfaces. Over the course of her studies, she discovered her love of astrobiology and observational astronomy, and has become a youth advocate for space education in her community.

Emilie has been heavily involved in the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada since organizing an event celebrating the solar eclipse in 2017 at John Abbott College, was invited as a guest speaker at the Montreal Space Symposium in 2017 and 2018, and has conducted several youth workshops as part of the McGill Space Group education outreach team.

She is excited to conduct her research project this summer, which will focus on mapping planets in reflected light based on disk-integrated photometry and constructing albedo maps of short-period planets using Kepler data.

Supervisor

Nicolas Cowan

Emilie Laflèche

Boursière d’été Trottier de l’iREx 2019 et étudiante à l’Université McGill

Emilie est étudiante de première année en Sciences planétaires avec spécialisation à l’Université McGill. Elle exécutera son stage d’été iREx à McGill sous la supervision du professeur Nicolas Cowan. Ses intérêts de recherche comprennent l’étude du potentiel d’habitabilité des exoplanètes, la dynamique des systèmes multiplanétaires et la modélisation des surfaces des exoplanètes. Au cours de ses études, elle a découvert son amour de l’astrobiologie et de l’astronomie observationnelle, et elle est devenue une jeune défenderesse de l’éducation spatiale dans sa communauté.

Emilie participe activement à la Société Royale d’Astronomie du Canada (RASC) depuis l’organisation d’un événement célébrant l’éclipse solaire en 2017 au Collège John Abbott. Elle a été invitée à titre de conférencière au Montreal Space Symposium en 2017 et 2018 et a organisé plusieurs ateliers jeunesse dans le cadre de l’équipe d’éducation du McGill Space Group.

Elle est enthousiaste de mener son projet de recherche cet été, qui se concentrera sur la cartographie des planètes en lumière réfléchie basée sur la photométrie intégrée au disque et la construction de cartes albédo de planètes de courte période à l’aide des données de Kepler.

Directeur de recherche

Nicolas Cowan