Caroline Piaulet

 

PhD student, Université de Montréal

Caroline obtained her Bachelor’s degree in Physics at the University of Montreal in Fall 2018. During her Bachelor’s, several internships gave her the opportunity to study structures in the winds of massive stars and to implement an artificial neural network in order to process data gathered by the ATLAS experiment at CERN. In the summer of 2018, she completed a summer internship at iREx under the supervision of Björn Benneke during which she developed a new method to constrain the atmospheric temperatures of exoplanets from emission spectra such as those that can be obtained with the James Webb Space Telescope.

Her doctoral thesis, supervised by Björn Benneke, consists in using transit and eclipse spectroscopy data obtained by the Spitzer, Hubble and James Webb space telescopes in order to study the atmospheres of exoplanets having sizes intermediate between that of Earth and Neptune, some of which could be candidates for habitability. These planets are intriguing because they have no equivalent in the solar system, and much remains to be learned about their formation and evolution mechanisms, whose imprint is found in the composition of their atmosphere.

In the summer of 2019, she completed a 3-month research internship at the Center for Space and Habitability in Bern under the supervision of Kevin Heng, during which she implemented a model that will enable to map the temperature and cloud cover of exoplanets bsased on phase curves obtained by the TESS space telescope.

Supervisor

Björn Benneke

In the media
Contact

Email: caroline@astro.umontreal.ca
Office: Complexe des sciences, B-4440

Links
  • On the Centre for Research in Astrophysics of Québec (CRAQ)
  • Publications on ADS
  • On the professional network LinkedIn

Caroline Piaulet

Étudiante au doctorat à l’Université de Montréal

Caroline a obtenu son baccalauréat en physique à l’Université de Montréal à l’automne 2018. Durant son baccalauréat, elle a fait plusieurs stages qui lui ont donné l’occasion d’étudier les structures dans les vents des étoiles massives, puis d’implémenter un réseau de neurones artificiels afin de traiter les données de l’expérience ATLAS au CERN. À l’été 2018, elle a réalisé un stage d’été à l’iREx sous la supervision de Björn Benneke grâce à l’obtention d’une bourse d’excellence Trottier, durant lequel elle a développé une nouvelle méthode pour contraindre la température des atmosphères d’exoplanètes à partir de spectres d’émission tels que ceux qui pourront être obtenus avec le Télescope Spatial James Webb.

Sa thèse de doctorat, supervisée par Björn Benneke, consiste à utiliser les données de spectroscopie de transit et d’éclipse obtenues par les télescopes spatiaux Spitzer, Hubble et James Webb afin d’étudier les atmosphères d’exoplanètes ayant des tailles intermédiaires entre celle de la Terre et de Neptune, dont certaines pourraient être des candidates pour l’habitabilité. Ces planètes sont intrigantes car elles n’ont pas d’équivalent dans le système solaire, et beaucoup reste à apprendre sur leurs mécanismes de formation et d’évolution dont l’empreinte se retrouve dans la composition de leur atmosphère.

À l’été 2019, elle a réalisé un stage de recherche de 3 mois au Center for Space and Habitability à Berne sous la supervision de Kevin Heng, durant lequel elle a implémenté un modèle qui permettra d’interpréter les courbes de phase d’exoplanètes obtenues par le télescope spatial TESS afin de cartographier leur température et leur couverture nuageuse.

Directeur de recherche

Björn Benneke

Dans les médias
Coordonnées

Courriel : caroline@astro.umontreal.ca
Bureau : Complexe des sciences, B-4440

Liens
  • Sur le site du Centre de Recherche en Astrophysique du Québec (CRAQ)
  • Liste des publications sur ADS
  • Sur le réseau professionnel LinkedIn