À la découverte des mondes extraterrestres – 24h de science

Our astrophysics Marie-Eve Naud, Frédérique Baron and Nathalie Ouellette will be your guides during this interstellar voyage! (Credit: Étienne Artigau, Amélie Philibert)

As part of the “24 hours of science” event organised by Science pour tous, the Institute for Research on Exoplanets (iREx) and the Centre for Research in Astrophysics of Quebec (CRAQ) invite you to discover extraterrestrial worlds with our astrophysicists

This activity will include a 30 minute long online presentation (in French) on the iREx YouTube channel during which your students will learn about the multitude of planets that exist in the Solar System and beyond. They will be able to visit these worlds virtually, find out what their environment is like, and whether life could develop there. They can then compare these worlds to our own planet Earth.

After the presentation, our astrophysicists will be happy to answer your students’ questions submitted via YouTube chat.

This 45-minute long activity is aimed at third cycle primary school students (grades 5 and 6), but we welcome students of all age groups. It will take place online on Monday May 16th 2022 at 10:00 am (Eastern Time).

Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech/R. Hurt (SSC-Caltech)

Teachers can optionally register their classes using the following form to receive a reminder and a link to the activity by email.

Registration is not required, however, and everyone will be able to join the event live on our YouTube channel, https://www.youtube.com/exoplanetes. The presentation will also be available for viewing after the initial stream.


Before your interstellar voyage, here are some fun activities for all the budding astronomers out there: Draw or describe your planet! (in French, PDF format, to be printed) and Exoplanets Postcard for Colouring (PDF format, to be printed).

À la découverte des mondes extraterrestres – 24h de science

Cette activité est terminée, mais il est toujours possible de l’écouter sur notre chaine YouTube!

Nos astrophysiciennes Marie-Eve Naud, Frédérique Baron et Nathalie Ouellette seront vos guides lors de ce voyage interstellaire! (Crédit: Étienne Artigau, Amélie Philibert)

Dans le cadre du 24 heures de science de Science pour tous, l’Institut de recherche sur les exoplanète (iREx) et le Centre de recherche en astrophysique du Québec (CRAQ) vous invitent à découvrir des mondes extraterrestres avec nos astrophysiciennes!

Cette activité consistera d’une présentation en ligne sur la chaîne YouTube de l’iREx d’environ 30 minutes lors de laquelle vos élèves en apprendront plus sur la multitude des planètes qui existent dans le Système solaire et au-delà. Ils pourront visiter ces mondes virtuellement et découvrir l’environnement qui s’y trouve et si la vie pourrait s’y développer. Ils pourront ensuite comparer ces mondes à notre propre planète Terre.

Après la présentations, nos astrophysiciennes se feront un plaisir de répondre aux questions de vos élèves soumises par clavardage sur YouTube.

Cette activité de 45 minutes s’adresse aux élèves du troisième cycle de l’école primaire (5e et 6e année), mais nous accueillerons les élèves de tous les groupes d’âge. Elle aura lieu en ligne le lundi 16 mai 2022 à 10h00 (heure de l’est).

Crédit: NASA/JPL-Caltech/R. Hurt (SSC-Caltech)

Les enseignant.e.s peuvent facultativement inscrire leurs classes grâce au formulaire suivant afin de recevoir un rappel et un lien vers l’activité par courriel.

L’inscription n’est pas nécessaire, par contre, et tous pourront se joindre à l’activité en direct sur notre chaîne YouTube, https://www.youtube.com/exoplanetes. La présentation y sera aussi disponible pour être visionnée en différé.


En attendant de vous visiter, voici des activité pour les astronomes en herbe: Dessine ou décris ta planète! (en format PDF, à imprimer) et Carte postale d’exoplanètes à colorier (en format PDF, à imprimer).