2016 Trottier Excellence recipients for Summer Interns

The Institute for research on exoplanets is proud to annonce the recipients of the 2016 Trottier Excellence scholarships for Summer Interns.

Michelle Kunimoto, from UBC, Élie Bouffard, from Université de Sherbrooke, Marie-Eve Desrochers and Évelyne Lecavallier-Hurtubise both from UdeM, are the four undergraduate students who will intern at the iREx.


From left to right: Michelle, Élie, Marie-Eve and Evelyne.

Over a period of four months (May-August), these internships provide an excellent opportunity for students to join a dynamic team and to learn about research in astrophysics by actively participating in vanguard scientific programs on exoplanets and other related topics.
During the summer, students can also participate in one or more observation missions at the telescope of the Observatoire du Mont-Mégantic. The $3,000 scholarship can be combined with that of NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Awards (USRA) for a total amount of $7,500. For students who do not have a scholarship from NSERC, their internship advisors are committed to complete the iREx scholarship for a total of $6,000. All students currently enrolled in an undergraduate program in physics or astrophysics in a Canadian university are eligible to apply. The internship will take place at Université de Montréal or McGill University.

The iREx team congratulates our new summer interns and is eager to benefit from their collaboration.